Lidl Starligue

Founded in 1952 under the name of Nationale 1, the Lidl Starligue corresponds to the highest level of French handball, and takes the form of an annual 16-team championship

LIDL STARLIGUE

At the end of the 2000s, several elements contributed to the development and popularisation of the French championship: the domination of the French team on the international scene and in particular the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games, the first television broadcast in 2012, as well as the ambition of Paris Saint-Germain Handball, marked by the arrival of great European players.

To date, Montpellier Handball is the most successful club in the history of the league, winning 14 trophies, including five consecutive titles between 2002 and 2006. On the players' side, Nikola Karabatic is the record holder for the number of league's best player trophies, with four individual awards, the last two of them in Parisian colours. In the 2019-20 season, Parisian Sander Sagosen was elected MVP of the championship, with Raul Gonzalez winning the title of Best Coach.

PSG RECORD IN LIDL STARLIGUE

7 Titles

Years

-2013 -2015 -2016 -2017 -2018 -2019 -2020

FORMAT

In accordance with the regulations of the European Handball Federation, the Lidl Starligue offers the champion a qualifying place for the next edition of the Velux EHF Champions League, plus three places for the EHF Cup. The end of the season is also marked by the relegation of the club finishing in 14th and last position in the ranking. The 13th ranked team plays a play-off against a Pro League contender ranked between 2nd and 5th place. The matches are generally played on Wednesday and Thursday evening, with the match of the day taking place on Thursday at 8:45 pm.

LIDL STARLIGUE STAKES FOR PARIS SAINT-GERMAIN HANDBALL

At the end of the 2019-20 season, Mikkel Hansen's team-mates were crowned champions for the 7th time. This new triumph also secured a place in the next Velux EHF Champions League for the Reds and Blues, a stated goal for the men from the capital. This sixth consecutive national title also puts Paris Saint-Germain on the podium of the clubs crowned in the Lidl Star League, behind US Ivry and Montpellier Handball.

Lidl Starligue

Fondée en 1952 sous le nom de Nationale 1, la Lidl Starligue correspond au niveau le plus élevé du handball français, et prend la forme d’un championnat annuel à 16 équipes.

LIDL STARLIGUE

A la fin des années 2000, plusieurs éléments vont  contribuer à développer et populariser le championnat de France :  la domination de l’équipe de France sur la scène internationale et notamment les Jeux Olympiques de Pékin 2008, la première télédiffusion en 2012, ainsi que l’ambition du Paris Saint-Germain Handball, marquée par l’arrivé de grands joueurs européens.

Le Montpellier Handball est à ce jour le club le plus titré de l’histoire du championnat, avec 14 trophées remportés et notamment cinq titres consécutifs entre 2002 et 2006. Du côté des joueurs, Nikola Karabatic est le recordman du nombre de trophée de meilleur joueur du championnat, avec quatre distinctions individuelles dont les deux dernières sous les couleurs parisiennes. Lors de la saison 2019 - 2020, le parisien Sander Sagosen fut élu MVP du championnat, Raul Gonzalez remportant lui le titre de Meilleur Entraîneur.

PALMARES DU PSG EN LIDL STARLIGUE

7 Titres

Années

-2013 -2015 -2016 -2017 -2018 -2019 -2020

FONCTIONNEMENT

Conformément au règlement de la Fédération Européenne de Handball, la Lidl Starligue offre une place qualificative au champion pour l’édition à venir de la Velux EHF Champions League, plus trois places pour la Coupe EHF. La fin de saison est aussi marquée par la relégation du club terminant à la 14ème et dernière position du classement. L’équipe se classant 13ème joue quant à elle un barrage face à un prétendant de Proligue classé entre la 2ème et la 5ème place. Les rencontres se jouent généralement le mercredi et jeudi en soirée, l’affiche de la journée ayant lieu le jeudi à 20h45.

LES ENJEUX DE LA LIDL STARLIGUE POUR LE PARIS SAINT-GERMAIN HANDBALL

A l'issue de la saison 2019 - 2020, les coéquipiers de Mikkel Hansen ont été sacrés champion pour la 7ème fois. Ce nouveau triomphe permet également aux Rouge et Bleu de s’assurer une place pour la prochaine Velux EHF Champions League, un objectif affirmé pour les hommes de la capitale. Ce 6ème titre national consécutif permet également au Paris Saint-Germain de figurer sur le podium des clubs titrés en Lidl Starligue, derrière l'US Ivry et le Montpellier Handball