Coupe de France

Founded in 1956 and organised by the French Handball Federation, the French Cup is a competition open to all affiliated clubs, from amateur level up to the Lidl Starligue, and is also contested by teams from France’s overseas departments.

FRENCH CUP

With 13 French Cup trophies to date, Montpellier Handball is the most successful club in the competition’s history. Over the years three second division teams have made the final, the last of them to date being Pays d’Aix Université Club Handball in 2007. Having knocked out US Ivry and Tremblay-en-France en route to the final, they went down to a Paris Handball side featuring the likes of Olivier Girault and Cédric Sorhaindo.

PSG RECORD IN FRENCH CUP

4 Titles

Years

-2007 -2014 -2015 -2018

FORMAT

A knockout competition held over several rounds, the French Cup is open to clubs from divisions 1 to 5 of the French handball league system, with clubs competing in the Lidl Starligue only joining in the Round of 32. The final is usually played in May, towards the end of the season, and has been held since 2012 at the AccorHotels Arena in Bercy, Paris. The winners of the French Cup qualify for the following season’s EHF Cup, Europe’s second-most important club competition after the Velux EHF Champions League.

FRENCH CUP STAKES FOR PARIS SAINT-GERMAIN HANDBALL

 Paris Saint-Germain Handball aim to win every competition they enter and the Coupe de France is one of their main objectives. Les Rouge et Bleu have reached the final four times in the last six seasons and won it on three of those occasions, an indication of how much France’s oldest national cup competition means to the club. Nikola Karabatic and his team-mates won the trophy in 2018, beating USAM Nîmes 32-26 in the final, but lost the 2019 showpiece to Montpellier Handball.

Coupe de France

Créée en 1956 et organisée par la Fédération Française de Handball, la Coupe de France de handball est une compétition ouverte à tous les clubs affiliés, du niveau amateur à la Lidl Starligue, et concerne également les équipes des différents départements d’outre-mer.

COUPE DE FRANCE

Avec 13 Coupe de France à son compteur, le Montpellier Handball est à ce jour le club le plus titré dans l’histoire de la compétition. Dans l’histoire de la compétition, trois clubs évoluant en deuxième division sont parvenus à se qualifier pour la finale de la Coupe de France. Lors de l’édition 2007, le Pays d’Aix Université Club Handball avait ainsi éliminé les joueurs de l’US Ivry en huitième puis Tremblay-en-France en demi, avant d’échouer en finale face au Paris Handball d’Olivier Girault et Cédric Sorhaindo.

PALMARES DU PSG EN COUPE DE FRANCE

4 Titres

Années

-2007 -2014 -2015 -2018

FONCTIONNEMENT

Compétition organisée en plusieurs tours qualificatifs à élimination directe, la Coupe de France est ouverte aux clubs affiliés à la Fédération Française de Handball des divisions 1 à 5. L’entrée des clubs se fait de manière progressive par niveau, ceux de Lidl Starligue n’apparaissant qu’à partir des 16èmes de finale. La finale se joue en général au mois de mai, à l’approche de la fin de saison, et se déroule depuis l’édition 2012 dans la salle de l’AccorHotels Arena de Bercy. Le club vainqueur de la Coupe de France obtient alors sa qualification pour la prochaine Coupe de l’EHF, la seconde compétition européenne après l'EHF Champions League.

 

LES ENJEUX DE LA COUPE DE FRANCE POUR LE PARIS SAINT-GERMAIN HANDBALL

Le Paris Saint-Germain Handball a l’ambition d’être compétitif dans toutes les compétitions auxquelles il participe, et la Coupe de France est un objectif annoncé du club de la capitale. Sur les six dernières éditions, les Rouge et Bleu sont parvenus jusqu’en finale à cinq reprises, pour trois titres, symbole de leur volonté d’inscrire leur nom au palmarès de la plus ancienne des coupes nationales de l’hexagone. Victorieux en 2018 face à l’USAM Nîmes en finale sur le score de 32 à 26, les coéquipiers de Nikola Karabatic se sont inclinés en 2019 face au Montpellier Handball.