PSG matches in the Super Cup

Find here the history of the French Super Cup and the record of Paris Saint-Germain in this competition!

French Super Cup

Although the competition has existed since 1995 in its title of Trophée des Champions, the first edition of its ancestor, the Challenge of Champions, took place in 1955. At the time, this first edition was Stade de Reims vs LOSC Lille and was held at the Stade Vélodrome in Marseille.

The Paris Saint-Germain is the record holder of the number of Super Cups won with 10 victories in 14 participations. Marco Verratti is the player who took part in the most Super Cups with 8 participations, for 8 victories! The record attendance for a Super Cup goes back to July 28th, 2010. At that time, 57,000 spectators came to the 7-November Stadium in Rades, Tunisia.

Paris Saint-Germain won 8 consecutive Super Cups.

PSG record in French Super Cup

10 Titles

Years

-1995 -1998 -2013 -2014 -2015 -2016 -2017 -2018 -2019 -2020

Its history

Organized by the Professional Football League, the French Super Cup is a single match competition between the winner of the Ligue 1 Uber Eats and the winner of the French Cup. In case of tie game at the end of regulation time, the two teams will take a penalty shoot-out.

Recently revised, the Super Cup stipulates that in case of a championship and French Cup victory from the same club, the team arrived second in the Ligue 1 Uber Eats standings will compete for the trophy. This situation has already occurred in 2011, 2015, 2016 and 2018.

Since 2009, the Super Cup has been held abroad: in Canada, Morocco, the United States and China.

Fans Club and the Super Cup

Over the last years, the Super Cup has been relocated thousands of kilometers away from France. Different countries have had the opportunity to host this competition such as Morocco, Canada or China! This important event is an opportunity for local Fan Clubs to attend matches, specific events and to live their PSG passion at home with their team.

French Super Cup stakes for Paris Saint-Germain

Usually held after summer pre-season and before the start of a new season of Ligue 1 Uber Eats, the Super Cup is a kind of final preparation and a way for Parisians to measure themselves against an important opponent. And with nine trophies to date, the Red and Blue will be looking for a 10th crown. On January 13th, 2021, Mauricio Pochettino's men won the 10th Supercup of the Paris Saint-Germain history, defeating Olympique de Marseille at Bollaert Stadium of Lens. Icardi and then Neymar offered the first title of the Pochettino new era.

Les matches du PSG lors du Trophée des Champions

Retrouvez ici l’histoire du Trophée des Champions et le palmarès du Paris Saint-Germain dans cette compétition!

Trophée des Champions

Si la compétition existe depuis 1995 dans son intitulé de Trophée des Champions, la première édition de son ancêtre, le Challenge des Champions, eu lieu en 1955. A l’époque, cette première édition opposait le Stade de Reims au LOSC Lille et s’était tenue au Stade Vélodrome de Marseille.

Le Paris Saint-Germain est le recordman du nombre de Trophée des Champions gagnés avec 9 victoires en 12 participations. Marco Verratti est le joueur ayant pris part au plus de Trophée des Champions avec 7 participations, pour 7 victoires! Le record d’affluence pour un Trophée des Champions remonte au 28 juillet 2010. A l’époque, 57 000 spectateurs s’étaient déplacés au Stade du 7-Novembre de Radès, en Tunisie.

Le Paris Saint-Germain reste sur 7 victoires consécutives lors du Trophée des Champions.

Palmarès du PSG lors du Trophée des Champions

9 Titres

Années d'obtention

1995-1998-2013-2014-2015-2016-2017-2018-2019

Son histoire

Organisé par la Ligue de Football Professionnel, le Trophée des Champions est une compétition à match unique opposant le vainqueur du Championnat de France de Ligue 1 Uber Eats au vainqueur de la Coupe de France. En cas d’égalité à la fin du temps réglementaire, les deux équipes se départagent directement lors d’une séance de tirs au but.

Révisé récemment, le Trophée des Champions prévoit qu’en cas de victoire du championnat et de la Coupe de France par un seul et même club, c’est alors l’équipe arrivée seconde au classement de la Ligue 1 Uber Eats qui affrontera ce dernier. Cette situation s’est déjà produite en 2011, 2015, 2016 et 2018.

Depuis 2009, le Trophée des Champions se déroule à l’étranger: au Canada, au Maroc, aux Etats-Unis, ou encore en Chine.

Les Fans Club et le Trophée des Champions

Depuis quelques années, le Trophée des Champions est délocalisé à des milliers de kilomètres de la France. Différents pays ont eu l’occasion d’accueillir cette compétition tels que le Maroc, le Canada ou encore la Chine! Cet événement important est l’occasion pour les Fan Clubs locaux d’assister aux matches, à des événements spécifiques et de vivre leur passion pour le Paris Saint-Germain chez eux avec leur équipe.

Les enjeux du Trophée des Champions pour le Paris Saint-Germain

Organisé généralement après les matches amicaux estivaux et avant d’entamer une nouvelle saison de Ligue 1 Uber Eats, le Trophée des Champions est une sorte de répétition générale et un moyen aux Parisiens de se jauger face à un adversaire important. De plus, avec 9 victoires au compteur, les Rouge et Bleu seront en quête d’une 10ème couronne. La délocalisation de cette rencontre est également l’occasion de promouvoir la marque Paris Saint-Germain à l’étranger.