Lidl Starligue

Founded in 1952 under the name of Nationale 1, the Lidl Starligue corresponds to the highest level of French handball, and takes the form of an annual 16-team championship


At the end of the 2000s, several elements contributed to the development and popularisation of the French championship: the domination of the French team on the international scene and in particular the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games, the first television broadcast in 2012, as well as the ambition of Paris Saint-Germain Handball, marked by the arrival of great European players.

To date, Montpellier Handball is the most successful club in the history of the league, winning 14 trophies, including five consecutive titles between 2002 and 2006. On the players' side, Nikola Karabatic is the record holder for the number of league's best player trophies, with four individual awards, the last two of them in Parisian colours. In the 2019-20 season, Parisian Sander Sagosen was elected MVP of the championship, with Raul Gonzalez winning the title of Best Coach.


7 Titles


-2013 -2015 -2016 -2017 -2018 -2019 -2020


In accordance with the regulations of the European Handball Federation, the Lidl Starligue offers the champion a qualifying place for the next edition of the Velux EHF Champions League, plus three places for the EHF Cup. The end of the season is also marked by the relegation of the club finishing in 14th and last position in the ranking. The 13th ranked team plays a play-off against a Pro League contender ranked between 2nd and 5th place. The matches are generally played on Wednesday and Thursday evening, with the match of the day taking place on Thursday at 8:45 pm.


At the end of the 2019-20 season, Mikkel Hansen's team-mates were crowned champions for the 7th time. This new triumph also secured a place in the next Velux EHF Champions League for the Reds and Blues, a stated goal for the men from the capital. This sixth consecutive national title also puts Paris Saint-Germain on the podium of the clubs crowned in the Lidl Star League, behind US Ivry and Montpellier Handball.